Kolkata Knight Riders : Team Review

Kolkata Knight Riders: Team Review

Kolkata Knight Riders: Team Review
Kolkata Knight Riders: Team Review

The 14th season of the Indian Premier League is going to start on 9 April. Two-time champions Kolkata Knight Riders will start their battle against Sunrisers Hyderabad on April 11 from Chennai. Last season played in the UAE saw KKR batting from opening pair to middle order and finishers. The captain was also replaced in the middle of the tournament, but it did not make any difference. Now the team will be committed to starting from the new season, taking lessons from previous weaknesses.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Caribbean players not playing

KKR will need a fresh start from Shubman Gill. Gill initially wasted a lot of balls, putting pressure on the middle order. The Morgan-led team would initially have to make a good combination, as it was the last time the team failed to do so. KKR missed to make it to the playoffs for the second time in a row after Gambhir’s failure due to the failure of two West Indies star players Andre Russell and Sunil Narine.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Morgan will be captain of the whole tournament for the first time

The England World Cup-winning captain carried over in the middle of the tournament last year. Dinesh Karthik had decided to relinquish the captaincy to focus on his game and would like to make it by 2021 by 2020. Left-handed batsman Morgan himself performed well and scored 418 runs in 14 innings. He also showed his skill of playing long shots in the death overs and had hit 24 sixes at most.

Buy good players at auction
KKR held 17 of their players in the team despite failing results, but this time some good players have also been added to the team. The arrival of Bangladesh star all-rounders Shakib-Al-Hasan and Ben Cutting gave him a good backup of Narine and Russell. KKR has a good young fast bowler in the form of Prasidha Krishna, but once again the eye will be on Australian superstar Pat Cummins, with Lockie Ferguson in the squad.

KKR’s weakness is its spin department

Left-arm wrist spinner Kuldeep Yadav managed to pick just one wicket in five matches last year. Narine, who was the hero of the 2012 and 2014 title wins under Gambhir, is also unable to walk. Last year, Sunil got a warning for suspicious action, which prevented him from playing four matches. Another mystery spinner Varun Chakraborty took 17 wickets in the absence of Narine, but his fitness remains a concern. Shakib and expert off-spinner Harbhajan Singh would also like to take full support from the slow wickets of Delhi and Chennai.

Kolkata Knight Riders: KKR’s team is as follows

Eoin Morgan (captain), Dinesh Karthik, Shubman Gill, Nitish Rana, Tim Seifert, Rinku Singh, Andre Russell, Sunil Naren, Kuldeep Yadav, Shivam Mavi, Varun Chakraborty, Shakib-Al-Hasan, Locker Ferguson, Pat Cummins, Kamlesh Nagerkoti, Sandeep Warrier, Prasidha Krishna, Rahul Tripathi, Sheldon Jackson, Vaibhav Arora, Harbhajan Singh, Karun Nair, Ben Cutting, Venkatesh Iyer, and Pawan Negi.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here